LinuxPrimer Starting

Okay, so we (I) decided to start a blog about Linux stuff. Nothing big, but really a collection of things I have had to learn along the way and I was writing them down in a text file all the time and thought – hey, I could just stick them all on a blog and keep them there instead.

So this is primarily for me, but just in case anyone ever reads this, then for background I have been using windows pc’s for about 25 years, I know where everything is and how to do things on them. I dabbled a bit with linux, but even today Linux still isn’t up to windows as a desktop computer. So I never really learned how to do all those simple things. Then I came across those little Raspberry Pi things. They looked cool, pretty good processing power, good ram, very cheap, and very low power. I was interested to find out more.

I have to say after 6 months playing with them they are simply brilliant. I have moved lots of processing of my main computer on to the Raspberry Pi, including running a proxy server, my VPN connection, all my torrent traffic, and my router (mikrotik) monitoring software. I have also set up Surveillance video walls using them, I have played with intercoms, intruder detectors, wireless 433 MHz receiver transmitters, infrared sending and receiving, temperature and humidity sensors and more. They are really useful and fun boxes to play with and have a large and helpful user community online that makes them capable of anything you can think of.

I have to say the amount of really helpful info on the internet for these boxes is incredible, and also the high level of knowledge of the other writers is astounding. I am truly humbled and cannot really say I have much if anything to add in relation to the Raspberries knowledge base.

What I did notice though is that coming to Linux as an OS, there are many simple tasks that I have had to research to accomplish. Simple things like formatting a disk or mounting a USB drive are all simple to do once you know how, but for me even after many years on computers, was still a pretty high learning curve and a lot of knowledge to digest and remember.

I decided early on to keep a log of the things I needed and it was maintained as a text log. I am now moving that log here (about 3 months worth) for myself and for others in case it ever helps. I use my log nearly every day as I have an appalling memory of command line arguments and things so I will be using my own log regularly.

So here it begins.

Leave a Reply

